A round, wooden coffee table and chairs with french press coffee and a plant on top of it, next to a glass wall
Photo by Kris Atomic on Unsplash

Two Strategies to Experience More Leisure and Productivity

Schedule happiness and surround yourself with inspiration

Kasey Yanna
4 min readJan 17, 2022

--

Have you seen that meme, that says something like I thought I wanted a career. Turns out I just wanted money for margaritas? That’s 100% me. And if it’s you too, I have some leisure + productivity tips below.

The career

I went through high school with one goal in mind: do well enough to earn a full ride to college. Then I went through college with the next traditional goal at the forefront: do well enough to land a decent job.

After landing and leaving a job with a big director title but mediocre day-to-day responsibilities, I found my dream job as a college advisor. I spent a decade in the college access space, landed another director role, studied human rights and social justice issues in graduate school, managed a boutique fitness studio, and had a baby.

The money for margaritas

It’s the baby part that eventually forced me to come face to face with the truth about my career ambitions, or lack thereof. I already knew what it felt like to garner professional success and recognition, and it wasn’t that great. I was always busy and there was always more work to do, but what I really wanted was time…

--

--

Kasey Yanna

Eating + drinking my way to happiness. But in a healthy-ish way. You know, with well-being & productivity in mind. To collaborate, email karuedas@gmail.com.